The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering and Medicine

Second International Summit > Organizing Committee

The Second International Summit on Human Genome Editing

Co-Hosted by
The Academy of Sciences of Hong Kong
The Royal Society
U.S. National Academy of Sciences
U.S. National Academy of Medicine

View Committee Bios

Organizing Committee 

David Baltimore1,2 (committee chair)
President Emeritus and Robert Andrews Millikan Professor of Biology
California Institute of Technology
United States

Alta Charo2
Warren P. Knowles Professor of Law and Bioethics
University of Wisconsin, Madison
United States

George Q. Daley2
Dean of the Faculty of Medicine and Caroline Shields Walker Professor of Medicine
Harvard Medical School
United States

Jennifer A. Doudna1,2
Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute; and
Professor, Department of Molecular and Cell Biology and Department of Chemistry
University of California, Berkeley
United States

Kazuto Kato
Professor of Biomedical Ethics and Public Policy
Graduate School of Medicine
Osaka University

Jin-Soo Kim
Director of Center for Genome Engineering
Institute for Basic Science
Seoul National University
South Korea

Robin Lovell-Badge3
Senior Group Leader
The Francis Crick Institute; and
Special Visiting Professor
University of Hong Kong
United Kingdom

Jennifer Merchant
Professor of Legal and Political Institutions
Université de Paris II (Panthéon-Assas)

Indira Nath
Visiting Professor, Bio-Support Unit
Department of Biotechnology
All India Institute of Medical Sciences (AIIMS); and
Former Raja Ramanna Fellow and Emeritus Professor
National Institute of Pathology

Duanqing Pei 
Professor and Director General
Guangzhou Institutes of Biomedicine and Health
Chinese Academy of Sciences

Matthew Porteus
Associate Professor of Pediatrics
Division of Stem Cell Transplantation and Regenerative Medicine
Stanford University
United States

John Skehel3
Emeritus Scientist
The Francis Crick Institute
United Kingdom

Patrick Tam3
Deputy Director and Head, Embryology Research Unit
Children's Medical Research Institute;
Senior Principal Research Fellow
National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC) of Australia;
Professor, School of Medical Sciences, Faculty of Medicine and Health
The University of Sydney; and
Mok Hing-Yiu Distinguished Visiting Professor
School of Biomedical Sciences
University of Hong Kong

Xiaomei Zhai
Professor and Executive Director, Centre for Bioethics
Chinese Academy of Medical Sciences and Peking Union Medical College

1Member, U.S. National Academy of Sciences
2Member, U.S. National Academy of Medicine
3Fellow, The Royal Society