

## The Big Data Revolution: What Does It Mean for Research?

## October 14-15, 2014

## **Participants List**

Dr. Tilak Agerwala

Vice President, Data Centric Systems IBM

Ms. Amanda Arnold

Associate Director for Federal Relations-Convergence Texas A&M University

Mr. Alvaro Bedova

Executive Director, Center on Privacy and Technology Georgetown University

**Dr. Anthony Boccanfuso** 

Executive Director University-Industry Demonstration Partnership (UIDP)

Mr. Robert Bouzon

Senior Program Manager Hewlett Packard Labs

Dr. Susan Butts

President Susan B. Butts Consulting Dr. Gale Allen

Deputy Chief Scientist National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA)

Dr. Chaitanya Baru

Senior Advisor for Data Science, CISE National Science Foundation (NSF)

Dr. Bob Berinato

Chief Research Scientist Dynetics

Dr. Khaled Bouri

Senior Science Advisor Food and Drug Administration (FDA)

Ms. Emel Bulat

Governtment & Industry Liaison Northeastern University

Mrs. Kristina Chinn

Boeing University Strategy SM Team The Boeing Company Gen. Sam Armstrong

Retired United States Air Force (USAF) /National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA)

Ms. Claudette Baylor-Fleming

Administrative Coordinator The National Academies

Dr. Richard Bissell

Executive Director
The National Academies/Policy and
Global Affairs (PGA)

Dr. Philip Bourne

Associate Director for Data Science National Institutes of Health (NIH)

Mr. Ronald L. Burgess

Senior Counsel for National Security Programs, Cyber Programs & Military Affairs Auburn University

Mr. Thomas Chmura

Vice President for Economic Development University of Massachusetts



Dr. Uma Chowdhry

Chief Science and Technology Officer Emeritus DuPont and Co-Chair

Dr. Christopher DeFeo

Program Officer
Institute of Medicine

Dr. T. Taylor Eighmy

Vice Chancellor for Research & Engagement The University of Tennessee

Dr. David Fenske

Dean

**Drexel University** 

Mr. Ken Gertz

Associate Vice President for Research Development University of Maryland

Dr. Karen Gleason

Associate Provost Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT)

**Dr. Ron Hutchins** 

Associate Vice Provost Research & Technology/CTO Georgia Institute of Technology Dr. E. William Colglazier

Former Science & Technology Adviser, U.S. Department of State Retired

Dr. Victor Dzau

President Institute of Medicine

Mr. Christopher Featherston

Senior Advisor, Science & Technology Department of Homeland Security

Mr. Dennis Fortner

Senior Manager Intellectual Property & Strategic Technology Agreements Northrop Grumman Corporation

Dr. Chelsie Geyer

Post-Doctoral Fellow American Academy of Microbiology

Mr John Goodhue

Executive Director Massachusetts Green High Performance Computing Center

Dr. H.V. Jagadish

Bernard A Galler Collegiate Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science University of Michigan Dr. Dilma Da Silva

Professor and Department Head Texas A&M University

Dr. Karina Edmonds

Executive Director for Corporate Partnerships California Institute of Technology

Dr. Jonathan Felbinger

Policy Fellow Department of Defense, Basic Research Office

Dr. Jilda Garton

Director of Research Georgia Institute of Technology

Mr. Paul Gibson

Chief Information Officer, ARS REE ARS OCIO Department of Agriculture (USDA)

Ms. Cynthia Hope

Chair

Federal Demonstration Partnership

Mr. Joseph Jerome

Policy Counsel Future of Privacy Forum



Mr. Wayne Johnson

**Executive Director Innovation Institute** University Massachusetts Lowell Mr. John Kastanas

Associate Director Corporate Partnerships California Institute of Technology Dr. Christopher Keane

Vice President for Research Washington State University

Dr. Ralph Kuncl

President University of Redlands Dr. Julia Lane

Institute Fellow American Institutes for Research Mr. Patrick Larkin

Director of Innovation Institute Massachusetts Technology Collaborative

Dr. Gina Lee-Glauser

Vice President for Research Syracuse University

Dr. Simon Liu

Director National Agricultural Library Mr. David Luzzi

**Executive Director** Strategic Security Intvs Northeastern University

Mr. Mano Mannoochahr

Director, Arch., Info Mgmt. & Security John Deere

Dr. Martin Margala

Chair, ECE Department University of Massachusetts Lowell Dr. John Mason

Vice President for Research & Economic Development **Auburn University** 

Dr. Michele Masucci

Interim Vice Provost for Research Temple University

Dr. Tawny Mata

Advisor U.S. Department of Agriculture Dr. Celia Merzbacher

Vice President **Innovative Partnerships** Semiconductor Research Corporation

Dr. Eric Michielssen

Associate Vice President for Research University of Michigan

Dr. C. D. Mote, Jr.

President National Academy of Engineering Dr. Premkumar Natarajan

Executive Director / Vice Dean Information Sciences Institute,

USC Viterbi School

**Dr. Jeffrey Nichols** 

Associate Laboratory Director Oak Ridge National Laboratory Dr. Sarah Nusser

Vice President for Research Iowa State University

**Dr. Timothy Persons** 

Chief Scientist

U.S. Government Accountability Office



Mr. Jules Polonetsky

Executive Director and Co-Chair Future of Privacy Forum

**Dr. Renata Rawlings-Goss** 

AAAS Fellow,
Directorate for Computer &
Information Science & Enginering
National Science Foundation

Dr. Tom Rudin

Director, Board on Higher Education and Workforce The National Academies

Dr. Michelle Schwalbe

Program Officer National Academies

Dr. David Spencer

Chairman of the Board wTe Corporation

Dr. Ellen Stofan

Chief Scientist National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA)

Dr. Alejandro Suarez

AAAS Fellow, Directorate for Computer & Information Science & Enginering National Science Foundation Dr. Deborah Radasch

Director, Strategic Universities Boeing Reserach & Technology

Mr. Andrew Reynolds

Senior Advisor, Space and Advanced Technologies U.S. Department of State

Mr. Thomas Russo

Assistant Vice President, Industry & Corporate Research The George Washington University

Ms. Susan Sloan

Director, GUIRR
The National Academies

Dr. Richard Spinard

Chief Scientist National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)

**Dr. Miron Straf** 

Deputy Director., DBASSE The National Academies

Dr. Kelly Sullivan

Institutional S&T Investments Pacific Northwest National Laboratory Dr. Raghu Ramakrishnan

Technical Fellow Microsoft

**Dr. Rodney Robertson** 

Executive Director Auburn University Huntsville Research Center

**Dr. Lawrence Schuette** 

Director of Research Office of Naval Research

Ms. MacKenzie Smith

University Librarian University of California, Davis

Dr. Scott Steele

Director (Operations) Center of Excellence in Data Science University of Rochester

Ms. Ashley Strawbridge

The National Academies

Ms. Kathryn Sullivan

Senior Advisor National Science Foundation (NSF)



**Dr. Valerie Taylor**Senior Associate Dean for Academic Affairs
Texas A&M University

**Dr. Lydia Thomas** President & CEO (Retired) Noblis **Ms. Kristina Thorsell**Associate Program Officer
The National Academies

**Mr. Paul Uhlir**Director
Board on Research Data & Info

**Dr. John Wenstrand**Director, External Research
Agilent Technologies, Inc.

**Dr. Marian Westley**National Oceanic and Atmospheric
Administration (NOAA)
Office of the NOAA Chief Scientist

**Dr. Caroline Whitacre**Vice President for Research
The Ohio State University

**Dr. John Wiest** Associate Dean for Research University of Alabama **Mr. David Wright**Executive Director
Federal Demonstration Partnership

**Dr. Paul Zimmerman**University Program Office Manager
Intel Corporation