main content
National Academy of Sciences
National Academy of Engineering
Institute of Medicine
National Research Council
NA NRC Setion Primary Header Image

At A Glance


Ralph J. Cicerone
, chair
National Academy of Sciences

C.D. (Dan) Mote, Jr., vice-chair
National Academy of Engineering

Harvey V. Fineberg
Institute of Medicine

Robert C. Dynes, NAS
President Emeritus, University of California; Professor
Department of Physics
University of California, San Diego

Diane E. Griffin
Distinguished University Service Professor and Alfred and Jill Sommer Chair
Department of Molecular Microbiology and Immunology
Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health

Anita K. Jones, NAE
University Professor Emerita
School of Engineering and Applied Science
University of Virginia

Douglas S. Massey, NAS
Henry G. Bryant Professor of Sociology and Public Affairs
Princeton University

Jeremiah P. Ostriker, NAS
Charles A. Young Professor Emeritus
Department of Astrophysical Sciences, Princeton University
Professor of Astronomy, Columbia University

Maxine L. Savitz, NAE
Retired, General Manager, Technology/Partnerships Honeywell Inc.

Larry J. Shapiro, IOM
Spencer T. and Ann W. Olin Distinguished Professor
Executive Vice Chancellor for Medical Affairs
Dean of the School of Medicine
Washington University

Martin B. Sherwin, NAE
Vice President
W.R. Grace & Co (Retired)

Arnold F. Stancell, NAE
Retired Vice President, Mobil Oil and Turner Professor of Chemical Engineering, Emeritus
Georgia Institute of Technology

Maria T. Zuber, NAS
E. A. Griswold Professor of Geophysics
Massachusetts Institute of Technology